A 3AJ to spruce up

User avatar
GeoffD
A Very Friendly
A Very Friendly
Posts: 1528
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:19 pm
What Bike or Bikes Do You Own?: 6 x 3AJ Teneres
2 x 1VJ Teneres
55W Tenere
XT660 Tenere 4MY
XTZ750 Super Tenere.... Ratty one
Triumph Tiger 955I
Triumph Thunderbird sport
55W Tenere
Kawasaki Versys 650
Suzuki GT750 Kettle
Previously Owned Bikes: Triumph Tiger Cub, Garelli Tiger Cross, Triumph Trophy 650, Honda CB250 G5, Honda CB750 K7, Yamaha DT175MX, Honda CB250 Super Dream, Yamaha RD350LC YPVS, Honda XR250, Yamaha XT600, Suzuki PE175, Yamaha YZ125, Yamaha RD500 V4, Yamaha XT600 Tenere (3AJ), Kawasaki ZX10, BMW R100GS PD, Honda XR600, Honda Varadero, Honda Africa Twin, Honda Transalp, Triumph Thunderbird, Ducati 900 Superlight FE, Ducati 750 SS, Honda Fireblade... all I can remember for now...
Location: Tenereland, North East England.

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by GeoffD » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:46 pm

The breather pipe connects to the right side of the airbox, it connects to the inner pipe.... the outer one is a drain valve thing, there's also one on the left side... to drain water off the airbox....
The future is not what it used to be....

User avatar
xtjoe
Financial
Financial
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: cape town sa

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by xtjoe » Sat Apr 09, 2016 11:09 am

Not much happening here,been busy with everything else but 3AJ - took the bike to PeteJ to go over the wiring before start up. Way to many joins was the last words. ..got to clean it up he insisted-point taken . Bike starts and all lights and stuff was working except for popping main fuse a few times. I connected the regulator incorrectly by accident and we found no charge coming out- corrected by double checking pics taken b4- still no charge, Is the regulator fooked


tape taken off wiring


Image

steveloomis
Financial
Financial
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:03 pm
What Bike or Bikes Do You Own?: 81 RD350LC w/84 RZ engine
85 RZ350
84 XT600
86 XT600
Previously Owned Bikes: Honda 50's, 90's, Yamaha Twin 100, 68 DT1, '73 DT-3, 73 RD350, '77 DT250
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by steveloomis » Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:37 pm

Solder and heat shrink is best way to fix broken wires, tape ok to wrap harness. Here in USA I only use Scotch 33+ tape. It is high quality and will not fail when it gets cold or hot. Not sure about other brands around the world. In the USA the Scotch 33+ costs about 5 dollars a roll. Not cheap but very well worth it.

I answered your regulator question in another post.

User avatar
xtjoe
Financial
Financial
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: cape town sa

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by xtjoe » Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:16 pm

:thanks:
steveloomis wrote:Solder and heat shrink is best way to fix broken wires, tape ok to wrap harness. Here in USA I only use Scotch 33+ tape. It is high quality and will not fail when it gets cold or hot. Not sure about other brands around the world. In the USA the Scotch 33+ costs about 5 dollars a roll. Not cheap but very well worth it.

I answered your regulator question in another post.

:thanks: x2

User avatar
xtjoe
Financial
Financial
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: cape town sa

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by xtjoe » Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:55 pm

PeteJ been sorting the electrical problems by replacing the regulator with genuine Yamaha part and spend hours on replacing all wires back to standard/better than standard. A dipstick was also fabricated. All checked out with final test this weekend then we will refit the body parts and...
ever increasing pile of wire
Image
80% into new harness
Image
new dipstick
Image

steveloomis
Financial
Financial
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:03 pm
What Bike or Bikes Do You Own?: 81 RD350LC w/84 RZ engine
85 RZ350
84 XT600
86 XT600
Previously Owned Bikes: Honda 50's, 90's, Yamaha Twin 100, 68 DT1, '73 DT-3, 73 RD350, '77 DT250
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by steveloomis » Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:19 pm

I found the wiring not too bad once you got all the tape wrap removed. Just check each individual wire and connection splice if any. Many wires have multiple "tap's" and can be a site of corrosion and breakage. Good show!

vjseven
No Gold Stars Yet
No Gold Stars Yet
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 7:10 pm
What Bike or Bikes Do You Own?: Yamaha XT 550
Previously Owned Bikes: Yamaha XT400 (Artesia)
Location: Western Cape, SA

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by vjseven » Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:00 am

Joe, how can you do any work in this kak weather?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
xtjoe
Financial
Financial
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: cape town sa

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by xtjoe » Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:01 pm

steveloomis wrote:Solder and heat shrink is best way to fix broken wires, tape ok to wrap harness. Here in USA I only use Scotch 33+ tape. It is high quality and will not fail when it gets cold or hot. Not sure about other brands around the world. In the USA the Scotch 33+ costs about 5 dollars a roll. Not cheap but very well worth it.

I answered your regulator question in another post.



Thoughts on the latest here after wiring tidied up(ok it looks stunning) motor turning and spark plug just makes a single spark and then dead. Wired in a loan cdi unit to test- perfect spark. Verdict from those in the know- problem with cdi- have it checked out by resident electrician who could not find fault with the unit. His verdict is the source coil must be the problem- source coil tested and it measures around 50 volts which is very low. Got a loan unit to test and exchange- but still to get to that point. To many interruptions...
Any thoughts on the above :book:

steveloomis
Financial
Financial
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:03 pm
What Bike or Bikes Do You Own?: 81 RD350LC w/84 RZ engine
85 RZ350
84 XT600
86 XT600
Previously Owned Bikes: Honda 50's, 90's, Yamaha Twin 100, 68 DT1, '73 DT-3, 73 RD350, '77 DT250
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by steveloomis » Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:50 pm

It sounds like you already found the problem, you said loaner cdi worked perfectly. Testing in the bike certainly is better than any test on a bench setup. 50 volts from the stator coil does not sound low to me. Please explain your logic here.

User avatar
xtjoe
Financial
Financial
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: cape town sa

Re: A 3AJ to spruce up

Post by xtjoe » Mon Aug 15, 2016 9:12 pm

steveloomis wrote:It sounds like you already found the problem, you said loaner cdi worked perfectly. Testing in the bike certainly is better than any test on a bench setup. 50 volts from the stator coil does not sound low to me. Please explain your logic here.
Steve-thks :thanks: for your interest-As per your above all went well with other cdi wired in. Had my cdi tested and all found ok-maybe i was fobbed off. Reason for thinking source coil was that it was mentioned it only pushes out around 50 volts on turning over motor the guys said it should be a lot higher like 200 plus( i'm really in the dark with this) The source coil load unit was from older xt and could not be used. As the loan cdi worked with source coil in bike it makes sense that my CDI's is at fault- Question- is it possible that low output souce coil could have any influence . :scratch: .or should i just source another cdi unit.

Prettys sure it wont be a off the shelf item- where can i buy if we have to go this route

Post Reply